RSS

Demons ~ Corrupt Spiritualism?

04 Jan
Spiritual Gifts

from Google Images

I have found in my study on this subject that there is not a great deal of Biblical information to substantiate what is commonly held as true concerning demons: their behavior, how they came into existence, and how they come to possess their victims. I am very much surprised with how little is revealed in terms of Biblical evidence to support the current understanding of demonology. If one reads extra-biblical literature, the information is voluminous and authoritative. The problem lies in the fact that this creates more than one authority, and they don’t agree with one another. Yet, no one seems willing to leave any room for error by saying something like, “It is my belief…” They all write as though they know exactly what they are talking about and are the authority on the subject, yet they don’t agree with one another. Not one of those that I’ve read that comment on the Biblical examples, adequately explain how a demon can possess an infant when these beings cannot do anything without the permission of our Lord.

What I am about to share in this blog, I can only say that I believe with all my heart. To be perfectly honest, I was really stumped, when I came to this Scripture concerning the possession of an infant child. I believe what the Scriptures say. I may not always understand them, but I believe these are the words of God, written down by men. I prayed about understanding this passage, but I was not satisfied with what I had seen written in Christian literature about demons. While I wondered about this issue, I believe I was given a series of insights to help me understand. I began to receive understanding from sources and themes that were never intended to apply themselves to this subject. Nevertheless, when I listened to a godly man teach or read from the Bible, my mind immediately thought about demons or Satan/Adam. Some insights came years ago through my pastor as he taught about an entirely different subject. Others came when I was at work or as I waited in my car for my wife to finish grocery shopping.

To begin with, Jesus is teaching the disciples about the Kingdom of God. He is teaching them specifically about fellowship with God. My pastor said, and I agree wholeheartedly, that Jesus, as God, emptied himself of all his Divine power and became man (Philippians 2:6-7); and, as man, he operated in the gifts of the Holy Spirit. I believe this is true. He had all the gifts of the Spirit, and, as his own people, we receive our gifts from his supply (Ephesians 1:3). Jesus is the last Adam, so when my pastor said in Bible study that Jesus operated in the gifts of the Spirit, I began to apply this to Adam in Eden. I wondered what would have happened, if Adam had all the gifts of the Spirit as the leader of our race. I believe he would have been able to do all that Jesus had done; remembering that Jesus, having the form of God, did not cling to this but became a man and operated only in the gifts. I am not saying here that Adam was God, but I do believe that God (the Word) became Man.

If this logic is true, then I believe I have an answer to this dilemma of demonology that concerns possession of an infant. If Adam had all the gifts of the Spirit and was given authority over all the earth (Genesis 1:26), he would have been an extremely powerful being. Since the gifts and calling of God are irrevocable (Romans 11:29), when Adam rebelled, all his spiritual power and authority would not have been lost! Nevertheless, both Adam and his great power would have become corrupt. Just as all God has to give to us is found only in Jesus (Ephesians 1:3), all we have as Adam’s children is found only in Adam. When we were born, we could not claim or receive anything that Adam did not have already at creation. We have inherited all we have in this world from him. Because he had become corrupt before he had children, all his offspring would have inherited defective, corrupt spirits. Our gifts from Adam would not be as God had given them to him. In the New Testament the gifts of the Spirit are used for the care of the Body of Christ, building one another up. A corruption would turn the gifts inward and would be dominated by the flesh to satisfy the desires of self, and instead of drawing one to God, the tendency would be to draw one away from God.

Some of the gifts of the Spirit are found in Romans 12 and 1Corinthians 12. There are certain similarities concerning them and the evil spiritual life of people who were God’s enemies. Among our spiritual gifts from Christ is that of prophecy (Romans 12:6; 1Corinthians 12:10). Consider the evil that Balaam sought to do with his gifts. He used his wisdom (cf. 1Corinthians 12:8) to curse rather than bless (cf. Romans 12:14). Instead of building up (cf. Ephesians 4:11-12; 1Corinthians 14:5, 12), he tore down and taught Balac how to weaken the children of God (Revelation 2:14). The witch of Endor foretold the death of King Saul, but she dealt in a work forbidden by God. Others include the miraculous powers of Pharaoh’s magicians (cf. 1Corinthians 12:10) when they stood against Moses as he sought to free Israel. King Ahab had his court astrologers to predict the end of hypothetical battles with his enemies before he went to war (1Kings 22:5-7). As for discerning of the spirits (1Corinthians 12:10), Paul encountered a young woman who knew him and his company (Acts 16:16-18) without ever having met them before. Often different people who were possessed knew who Jesus was (Mark 1:24; 5:7), never seeing him before their encounter. That spiritual part of us, that in its originally pure state would have ruled our flesh, is now corrupt and of no use to God. Our spirituality as Christians comes only from Jesus. All that God gives us, spiritually, is found only in his Son (Ephesians 1:3).

Therefore, if what we call demons have no real life of their own, but are corrupt spiritual gifts originally intended to build up Adam’s race, then what we are told in Scripture about demons is really corrupt spiritualism which we have inherited from Adam. Our psychological makeup can be very sensitive and fragile when something goes wrong at birth or shortly thereafter.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2011 in Christianity, Demonology, Religion

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Demons ~ Corrupt Spiritualism?

  1. Berj

    February 21, 2013 at 01:06

    This is the first time I have come across to an interesting explanation regarding demons. I had heart of Christadelphians, who do not believe in the existence of demons nor the devil(they explain away the new testaments demon possession accounts by psycological disorders or other sicknesses). I have to ponder about what you wrote,
    God bless
    Berj

     
    • Eddie

      February 21, 2013 at 09:27

      Greetings, and thank you for your kind words. A word of caution, I am only expressing my opinions about what the the Scriptures say. Please don’t think of me as an authority. Look at the text yourself and believe what the Spirit tells you.

      Lord bless you,

      Eddie

       

Leave a Reply

 
