RSS

Revival!

01 Sep
from Google Images

from Google Images

Many Christians believe there will be an end time revival before the Second Coming of Christ to this earth.[1] Without commenting on the validity of such a thing, what might that look like, if it occurred, and what should we be doing in an effort to make ourselves ready for it? The words that come immediately to mind are the words of Christ that the disciple is not above his master, nor is the servant above his lord (Matthew 10:24). If Jesus shook up his world during his earthly ministry, then whatever an end time revival might look like, it is enough to say that we should be as our Lord (Luke 6:40), and, whatever we believe the Bible says about such a period, it should never be made to mean something that contradicts the nature of Jesus as Servant, i.e. the Weakness of God or the One of no reputation. The Bible is the word of God written down to reveal the Word of God. It cannot be made to violate that understanding (John 10:35).

One event that the Bible says will accompany the last days is the pouring out of God’s Spirit upon all flesh (Acts 2:16; cf. Joel 2:28-29). Peter said this occurred in the first century AD on the Pentecost following Jesus’ crucifixion and resurrection. Therefore, if it should occur again in our day (and again, I am not making a judgment about this), it would look similar to the what we see in the lives of the Apostles and the events of their day. What did the Holy Spirit do at that time?

According to Jesus’ words, the Holy Spirit was to teach his people all things and remind them of what Jesus told them (John 14:26 — in our case, we have only the Gospel narratives for Jesus’ words). He will testify about Jesus (John 15:26). He will guide his people into all truth (John 16:13), and will bring glory to Jesus by making the things of Jesus known to his disciples (John 16:14). This what we find in Acts, the record of the disciples’ ministry. The disciples, through the Spirit, took Jesus’ words and testified to the world about their Savior (cf. John 14:26; 15:26). Through the Spirit they glorified Jesus by making known to the world what Jesus had said and done (John 16:14) and guided even those into all truth who were ignorant of the God of Abraham. Even so, how was this done? Can we define it in terms of modern technology—i.e. the Gospel going out in a great display of power bringing hundreds of thousands, perhaps millions, to Christ? I don’t think so.

At the end of the day, I must be like Jesus! How can I be like Jesus, tasting his power and fellowship in his sufferings and be like him in his death (Philippians 3:10)? To be like Jesus, I must have no power, for he didn’t retain his almighty power (Philippians 2:5-6), but, rather, he traded in his godly form to take upon himself flesh (Philippians 2:7), and, in doing so, he became the weakness of God (1Corinthians 1:25) for our sakes.

In my opinion, to look for a great display of power at the end of this age (something the Bible never mentions) is to miss the point of Christ’s coming in the first place. His power was expressed in weakness (1Corinthians 1:25; cp. 2Corinthians 13:4). If I am to follow my Lord and Savior, then I must, I must seek to serve God not in power but in my weakness so that **his** power may rest upon my labor (2Corinthians 12:9). Therefore, if I am in Christ, I am weak, but I am God’s workmanship—a new creature created to do good works (2Corinthians 5:17; Ephesians 2:10). Just as Jesus was weak in power that the power of God would rest upon him (John 5:30), so I am weak and it is God who works in me both to desire and to do of his good pleasure (Philippians 2:13).

Any “end time” (also never mentioned in the Bible) revival will not be accomplished through a wonderful display of man’s great power, because that can never be anything more than information. There is nothing wrong with good information or the devices of men (i.e. TV, radio, the Web etc.) that could be used to offer it, but the power of God that will create any great end-time revival will be expressed in weakness, and Jesus is the weakness of God (1Corinthians 1:25). If I am to ever express the power of God, I must run the race before me and lay aside every tempting but unnecessary encumbrance, including my favorite sin that so easily defeats me, and I can do this only by fixing my eyes upon Jesus who is both the Author and Perfecter of my faith (Hebrews 12:1-2), for it is not I (man) but God who will do it all.

_____________________________________________

[1] As I said HERE, this current theme about the person of Jesus is based upon the book: The Jesus Style by Gayle Erwin. They are my thoughts about his book. He may or may not agree with the impression his book has made upon me, but I thoroughly enjoyed reading what Gayle wrote and recommend his book to anyone who is looking for a good read about Jesus.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 1, 2015 in Jesus

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
