RSS

Maturing in One’s Relationship with God

18 Jul

TrustIt’s not good for me[1] to be constantly seeking after a confirmation of the word God deposits in my spirit. If I have the mind of Christ (1Corinthians 2:16) and the earnest of his Spirit (2Corinthians 1:22; 5:5), then I have been given the power to understand and discern many things that God tells me within my spirit. One of the things that hinders my growth in Christ is from time to time I wonder, if it is really God who is giving me these thoughts. I resolve within myself to just trust that it is he. Sometimes I think I just can’t believe God actually speaks to me, but this is supposed to be a common thing with all of his children.

What kind of father would I be, if I never spoke with my children? On the other hand, would anyone who was privy to the relationship I have with my daughters believe it was a mature relationship, if they were constantly coming to me to be assured of what I had previously told them was really true? Maturity is made manifest in trust. If I tell my daughters I will do something for them, they trust me to carry out what I say. Their act of trust comes out of their mature relationship with me. However, if they kept coming to me, wondering if I really meant what I said, as they did when they were babes, then I would have to say our relationship hadn’t matured beyond what it was when they were just little girls. Likewise, I need to practice trusting this “still small voice” within me.

What God did through Jonah convinced the Ninevites that he was about to judge them, and they repented (Luke 11:30). They believed the works of God. Solomon spoke with wisdom given him by God, and the Queen of Sheba marveled. She came from a very distant land to listen to Solomon (Luke 11:31). When God works or speaks, the work itself and the wisdom of the word given should be enough to identify God as the Author. I manifest a lack of faith in God, when I keep asking for confirmation. I need to be instant in agreement and obedience. I must not conclude that this Scripture applies only to the unbelieving scribes and Pharisees. If I do, I am only ignoring my own sin. This Scripture was written for me.

As for the scribes and Pharisees, their unbelief could never provoke Jesus into dancing to their tune (Luke 7:32). The works and the words of God are enough to identify who Jesus is (John 3:2; 9:32-38). Therefore, the confirmation given the Pharisees will come too late. God will be vindicated even in the heart of the unbeliever. Nevertheless, their hard hearts will not be healed in this age (Matthew 12:32; 28:11-13).

They seemed to go about with blindfolds over their eyes with respect to spiritual truth. The eye is the lamp of the body (Luke 11:34). No one puts a lamp in a box or under a table. One puts a lamp on its own stand, and that enables it to brighten the whole room for all who enter (Luke 11:33). If I close my mind or harden my heart to a matter, then I am putting on a blindfold. I am like the little child who covers his eyes not wanting to see danger, or who covers his ears not wanting to hear something that makes him sad. In other words, I may not wish to hear a matter or see its application. When I harden my heart and close my mind, I put a spiritual blindfold over my eyes. In such a case my life would be full of darkness, as was that of the scribes and Pharisees. They thought they knew Jesus, but they didn’t. They hardened their hearts toward him, so their truth was death (darkness) to them (Luke 11:35). There is a Kingdom of Light (God) and a kingdom of darkness (evil). I must belong to one or the other. Dwelling in the one gives me Light that renders our luminaries unnecessary (Revelation 21:23; cf. Luke 11:36). Dwelling in the other plunges me into such a darkness that the luminaries of our universe are powerless to affect it.

_____________________________________

[1] In this study I have personalized the Scriptures to apply to me in particular.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2017 in Gospel of Luke

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Maturing in One’s Relationship with God

  1. Dave White

    July 18, 2017 at 09:13

    What an interesting read Eddie! I think this issue is at the heart of most of us in our walk. If the Holy Spirit indwells, our thoughts should be his thoughts. Yet the other side is also true; we easily see confusion in others, particularly when their views contradict our understanding. Case in point; I attend a church that is on the Pentecostal side the Charismatic spectrum. I however, do not agree with that position in its entirety. Further sincere people believe what they have been taught regarding end times, yet I don’t see the complexities of the Rapture, Tribulation, Thousand Year Reign, etc, as being valid positions. If we all listened to the Holy Spirit as we should I think there would be greater unity in the church.

     
    • Eddie

      July 18, 2017 at 10:56

      Hi Dave, good to hear from you again.

      Thank you for the encouragement, and I’m surprised to find how much we agree concerning end time eschatology. Concerning unity, I think our unity lay in the Spirit rather than doctrine. Sometimes, a little disagreement in doctrine forces sincere seekers to search the Scriptures more diligently for truth, than merely seeking understanding without input from others. At least I have found this to be true, as it pertains to my own desire to know truth.

      Lord bless you, Dave, and thanks again for reading and for your comment.

       

Leave a Reply

 
